A way to use Pepakura to attempt a Kig Mask.

A way to use Pepakura to attempt a Kig Mask.

Ok please understand I am not very good at sculpting and have in the past really not been able to get things off the ground with a raw sculpt. So I have done past things for Costume projects. I will be upfront this is just a way for me to get to the sculpting shapes I feel I can do a bit faster. Pepakura has an issue of being very geodesic so it is not a very good way to have a smooth mask with out planning to use it as a base to then sculpt stuff atop. Well let me first link to the open source file for the pepakura file of the head I am starting with.

tamasoft.co.jp/pepakura-en/gal…allerydetails.php?id=1722

Ok. So for those not aware Pepakura is a paper folding program that converts 3D objects into a paper folding project. this has been used for costume armor successfully by folks doing Halo Armor and even Warhammer stuff in the past and there is a lot out there on it. But here is an image of what the file can look like when put together.

So I am now going to show my attempts at the making of the cardstock part of it.

So once I had completed putting the mask together from all the cut out and folded Pepakura pieces I then got out my epoxies to play with. many use the bondo brand epoxy you can get at walmart or an auto parts store, but I had some good Marine Epoxy I needed to use up from a project on an RC boat. I am useing West system Epoxy in the project. for those interested this is a link to their site.

westsystem.com/