Hello!

Hello everyone!

I wanted to take some time to greet you all and introduce myself. But
      first, I'm new to Kigurumi. In fact, I'm new to anime altogether. I'm
      getting ahead of myself, though.

I'm a professional actor and writer who has a particular interest in the
      theatrical style of commedia dell'arte, my character of choice being
      Dottore, hence my forum name. However, I enjoy any of the roles.
      Since it's a style of performance that relies heavily on mask work, a
      friend and fellow actor suggested I research Kigurumi, even calling
      it a modern version of commedia. He knew how to get my attention,
      that's for certain.

I hadn't been researching long before I stumbled onto this forum.

I'm much enjoying what I'm seeing. The masks and costuming are
      amazing. I would like to research more, and even become involved. I
      do have some questions, if that is okay. Please forgive me if I use
      incorrect terminology. I mean no offense, so I hope none is taken
      should I use an incorrect word or phrase. I would hate to offend
      anyone in a community I'm interested in joining

Are there male characters? Okay, like I said, I haven't been looking for
      long, but I have yet to see a male character. Could be I just haven't
      looked well or long enough.

Are all the characters based upon established characters from anime? Or can
      performers create their own? I haven't sat down and watched much
      anime as of yet, but I'm working on it. My friend suggested one
      called Madoka Magica (spelling?) and I have it queued up on
      Netflix...just need to watch it.

Are there any established characters who are butlers? Anime with a butler
      character? My idea for a character is much like commedia's Pedrolino,
      typically a silent servant, with a bit of the costume style of
      Dottore. A bumbling servant/butler type of character. I understand